Downtown Leduc’s History

Curated by

is a non-profit organization dedicated to the preservation of the region’s rich history.

They advocate on behalf of the community to ensure the ongoing support of heritage through projects and education.

Historic Main Street

THEN

NOW

can be traced back as early as 1891! It all started when the Calgary and Edmonton Railway was completed through the village of Leduc.

The 1900s saw the growth of West Railroad Street (Main Street) and included hotels, a bakery and a general store.

In 1907, many wooden buildings were destroyed in a fire, leading to the brick buildings we see today. The discovery of oil at Leduc #1 in 1947 led to major growth in the region, and Leduc became a critical economic hub.

The Main Street you see today was largely developed during the 1950s and several facades today remain from this era.

Dr.Woods House Museum

The original home of Dr. Robert Woods gives a glimpse into life in 1920s-40s Leduc.

The upper-middle-class home was built in 1927, with a Craftsmen-style design and medical wing painstakingly restored to the art deco period.

The building and museum collection are owned and maintained by the City of Leduc, and is currently closed.

Leduc Heritage Grain Elevator

Built in 1978, this wood-crib elevator is operated by the Alberta Legacy Development Society.

The registered historic site was in operation until the year 2000, before becoming a museum showcasing Leduc’s agricultural heritage, and hosting large outdoor events on site.

Leduc Train Station

Constructed in 1891 to accompany the new line between Calgary and Edmonton. The station, and later the community, were named after Father Hippolyte Leduc, a local priest.

Telford Lake

The heart of outdoor recreation in Leduc!

Named after Robert Taylor Telford Leduc's first postmaster, justice of the peace, and later the first MLA and Mayor. He settled in the area in 1889.

Telford’s House was actually the original name of the community.

Downtown Leduc was featured on TV!

SCTV (Second City Television) was a sketch show that was produced in Edmonton and area from 1980-82. Scenes were often shot on Main Street!

The Canadian cast included John Candy, Catherine O'Hara, Rick Moranis, Eugene Levy, Joe Flaherty, Andrea Martin, Dave Thomas and Tony Rosato. Check out the scenes below!

On This Spot

Self-Guided Walking Tours

A new way to experience the history of Downtown Leduc! Download the app to take the interactive tour.

Land Acknowledgement

The region we now call home is located on Treaty 6 territory, the traditional and ancestral land of the nêhiyaw (Cree), Dené, Niitsitapi (Blackfoot), Anishinaabe (Saulteaux), Nakota Isga (Nakota Sioux), and is also located within Region 4 of the Métis Nation of Alberta.

Contribute to Preserving Leduc’s History!

  • Join the LDHS Board of Directors

  • Volunteer

  • Submit Your Leduc + Region Stories